[Brief Review] Shovel Knight (Nintendo 3DS / Xbox One)

Shovel Knight, it’s not you, it’s me.

I thought I would join in and play the Cartridge Club’s game of the month for August, instead of going my own way. I had no idea what I was getting into, but was soon introduced to a lil dude dressed in an iron suit that uses a shovel instead of a sword. He’s cute, and blue, and he won me over. It started out a typical platformer, that was easy enough to play. Looks can be deceiving, however…

Shovel Knight is similar to Mario games, in that you lead Shovel Knight through mazes, up ladders and push through obstacles to proceed to the end boss. You are given a map to maneuvre to the next stage, and as you finish a stage or defeat a boss, another area of the map unlocks. Along the way, Shovel Knight uses his shovel to dig tunnels and find needed treasure.

The game looked good, and was totally playable…up to a point. I’m not sure what I was doing wrong, but while playing on 3DS, I could not get Shovel Knight to jump right…or he kept dying…or I couldn’t fire his flare wand right. I tried really hard to push through, and wanted to succeed. I even started the game again on the XBox One to find out if maybe the 3DS’s controls were messing me up. Unfortunately, it didn’t seem to matter; as much as I enjoyed what I did play of Shovel Knight, I just could not progress in the game. 4.5 hours later, and I was still on level 2. …And I chose to walk away satisfied in knowing I played Shovel Knight as well as I could. Nothing is wrong with this game, except that it was too difficult for me. Kudos to those who played it all the way through.

Shovel Knight (3DS/Xbox One)
Yacht Club Games
2014

26 comments

  1. I’ve never really ‘got’ platform games – maybe I’m just a bit cack-handed.

    Btw. Have you played ‘Her Story’? definitely not a platform game, it’s quite short but brilliant, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bought that one I think…summer Steam sale…? Anyway, I think I have it.(trying to get through some DS games as of late…baseball and the evening games are competing with my computer time 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a big fan of Mario so this would no doubt be up my alley too. I’m not super good at finishing games, my track record isn’t the best haha (and that’s not because I get bored, games are often just too difficult, unless I can die a thousand times and continue playing). I’m not too patient though, so maybe I should skip this one until I feel a little more confident haha. Great review though.

    Would you be interested in sharing your thoughts and opinions on our gaming platform, Now Loading? I’d like to invite you to join the platform, and I’d love to hear from you so I can to expand on that. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail, my contact details are on my “About” page. Hopefully talk soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

