[Book] In the Pleasure Groove / John Taylor #TBR20

IMG_20150202_025820
In the Pleasure Groove
is my third book read for the #TBR20 challenge!

Ask me in 1987 who my favourite band was, and I would say, hands down, Duran Duran. In fact, the years 1984 to 1987, I was in the throes of Duranmania.

Over the years, I sort of kept Duran Duran on my radar, “checking in” every once in awhile to see what the band were up to, even though my last purchased album of theirs was their 1988 album, Big Thing. At any rate, the story of their success – their humble beginnings in Birmingham, UK at the Rum Runner bar, their huge successes with their eponymous album, Rio and later Seven and the Ragged Tiger, the band’s hiatus and side projects, Arcadia and the Power Station, and their struggle to come back and get an audience with their fourth studio album, Notorious is one I have memorized. I bore witness to their successes, and their struggles via the media, video and the radio.

So when I discovered John Taylor’s book, In the Pleasure Groove in the remainder bin at Chapters recently, I thought it would be cool to relive those times from the perspective of a bandmember I didn’t pay much attention to. As good-looking as John Taylor was, the only member of the band I paid any attention to was Simon Le Bon; John was my sister’s favourite.

In the Pleasure Groove is told in John’s voice, delving into John’s upbringing, his close relationship to his parents, his budding interest in music, and childhood friendship with fellow Duran bandmate Nick Rhodes. He talks about how he and Nick created Duran Duran. In reading this book, I learned so much more about this band I hadn’t known before; details like the fact that Duran Duran was mostly John’s idea. John also deals with his very personal struggles with addiction to drugs and alcohol, as well as his side projects, including his time performing in Neurotic Outsiders with former Guns and Roses bassist Duff McKagan, and guitarist Steve Jones from the Sex Pistols.

Although I braced for a salacious tell-all, In the Pleasure Groove  was a passionate and engrossing read that is very balanced, and never puts anyone against the ropes (including Andy Taylor, former guitarist who really didn’t leave the band on decent terms). It’s an excellent book and I highly recommend it!

In the Pleasure Groove
John Taylor
2012

8.5/10

#TBR20 Project Participant!!

The “To Be Read 20” Project, is created and hosted by Eva Stalker at evastalker.com. The goal of the project is to read through 20 books I own before buying any more books.

12 comments

  1. I have a ton of street cred for Mr Taylor and not because he was in Duran but for the fact that he funked it up in the Powerstation and rocked it heavy in the Neurotic Outsiders…..
    I have seeen this book,I may have to check it out on your recommendation …..
    Good review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. An incredibly interesting chap. I dare say he’s probably the reason that I like Duran Duran a bit. Have read some bits and bobs and he seems like an inspired chap, so I’ll need to check this book out …

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I started checking out some o’ his other stuff due to some articles and interviews were he spoke quite candidly about some of his issues.

        Plus, he rocked it with Duff in Neurotic Outsiders. Anyone rocking it with Duff is on my list of people to check out …

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Durandemonium is another name I’ve heard for their Beatlemania-esque peak of fame!
    I’m teased relentlessly for my love of their song Ordinary World – I know not all 80s fans were pleased with their 90s comeback, but that and come undone were my gateway tunes so I have no such complaints.
    Keep up the good TBR progress!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m dying to know more about that Neurotic Outsiders period. How much does he talk about it?

    I’m not a Duran Duran fan particularly but I have always found them interesting at the very least. I will check this out.

    Like

  5. I loved Duran Duran as a kid, mostly Rio and Arena. Last I heard of him, I found a copy of the Neurotic Outsiders, did a KMA review. For some reason I now have two copies of that CD. I think they’re mutliplying, in the basement. I ought to wash my hands after touching them…

    I was always convinced someone should name a band Duran Duran Duran, but it seems someone beat me to it:

    http://www.discogs.com/artist/27020-Duran-Duran-Duran

    I’m glad the book was cool. Way to go, finishing another one so soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

