[Review] Murder, She Wrote 2: Return to Cabot Cove (PC)

Jessica Fletcher: seasoned mystery writer from small town Cabot Cove, Maine. Friendly face, pleasant demeanor…and according to the game, Murder, She Wrote 2: Return to Cabot Cove, she is a harbinger of death.

jessica-fletcher

Cabot Cove has just seen its population decrease again, and Fletcher is RIGHT THERE to find the bodies EVERY TIME. Yet, no one thinks for a second she has anything to do with the murders. Nope, she just happens to be at the right place at the wrong time. As you play through the three cases, you discover Cabot Cove’s residents easily turn on each other. This quaint little town in the midst of autumn is so pretty on the outside, and sinister on the inside. Who would have thought Cabot Cove would see so much drama?

If you’ve played Murder, She Wrote, its sequel, Return to Cabot Cove is in the same vein, using similar graphics and voice actors from the first game, including a voice actress who sounds very much like Angela Lansbury.

The sequel is quite a bit shorter, only providing three cases to solve, and one case sees Jessica take a surprise trip to Ireland (seriously!)… because, obviously there is no one left to murder in Cabot Cove. While on her trip, Jessica meets up with her friend, the local sheriff there when she finds someone dead (of course she does!).

jessmeme1

The scenery in this game is vibrant and “picture perfect” beautiful. In terms of gameplay, it’s enjoyable enough, if a little redundant. The hidden object scenes repeat themselves throughout, but at least it gives you different items to find. The game also gives you a few little mini puzzles in there to make the game a little more interesting.

I had fun playing this game, but really I enjoyed the first game more. I recommend Return to Cabot Cove, but only buy if it is on sale for cheap.

7.5 / 10

Murder, She Wrote: Return to Cabot Cove
Developer: Legacy Games
Released 2012

More Jessica Fletcher games!

Murder, She Wrote

10 comments

  1. Haha man, I always had those two thoughts about that show (whenever I watched it with my Nana)… 1) if Fletcher moves in, I am frickin’ moving out! And 2) how does SHE always find the bodies like that? Could Fletcher be the most successful serial killer of all time?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bwhahahaha. I enjoyed this review. That was always my beef with the show! I’d hate to get a visit from her! You’re dead!

    I’d like to see a twist on Murder She Wrote where she IS the killer, framing innocents every time.

    Like

  3. Hi Sarca can you please tell me what WordPress Theme you are using? I need to be able to create a tile format for pics and my free theme 2010 won’t do it. Is your theme a free one? I’ve tried previewing 2012 and 2013 but they don’t seem to change much for me – in fact they seem to remove quite a lot. And I don’t want to have to completely rebuild the site. Help if you can. 😀 Jud

    Like

Leave a Reply

