[Review] 2048 (Android): Somebody Stop Meee

Has anyone NOT heard of the crazily addictive FREE game simply called 2048?

(Photo: Google Play)

I first learned of its phenomenon when my in-laws came to visit this past May. My casual-gamer Mom-in-law loves to play Facebook social games, but one night after dinner, I noticed that instead of being glued to her laptop, she was busily playing some sort of numbers game on her phone. Curious, I asked her what she was playing, and all she said was, “2048.” My father-in-law was also found to be playing that game. The two were engrossed in it all evening.

Not long after their visit, I was at work and found a colleague playing 2048 on her lunch break. Another colleague was also playing this game on her phone. What is with this game?!?

This casual game is FREE to play, and is basically ported to every mobile device, on every platform, on every OS, including iOS, Blackberry and Android. Flash versions also exist online.

(Photo: ironyca.files.wordpress.com)

The basic premise is you are given a simple blank 4×4 grid. Two tiles with a ‘2’ appear. You slide the tiles around the grid to pair them to create a 4 tile. With each movement of a tile, another tile with a 2 or 4 pops up on the grid which you will need to find pairs for. Two tiles of 4 become an 8 tile, two 8 tiles become a 16 tile, two 16 tiles become one 32 tile, and so on until you have paired up to the elusive 2048 tile. And, 2048 is quite difficult to achieve, but not impossible if you’re patient and figure out a strategy (and I am sure there is one). I never hit 2048, but can figure with practice and time on my hands I would get there. One final instruction: don’t allow the entire grid fill up with tiles  – that will signal GAME OVER.

When I finally decided to download and try 2048 one evening on my Android tablet, the first thing I noticed was there are a lot of 2048 clones out there, and all appear to be similar. I don’t recommend playing this game on Android tablets, as I had to turn the tablet vertically to play, which I found a bit awkward. But, this is great on a smart phone, and probably what it was meant for.

(Photo: Cheezburger)

2048 is so simple, yet addictive and time-wasting. An hour went by easily while playing it which I found extremely dangerous! I encourage you to check it out if you haven’t already. Just make sure you start playing when you have time on your hands, otherwise your spouse/ kid/ boss might start complaining you are negligent!

2048
Released: 2014

 

15 comments

      1. I’m a big fan of ‘kenken’ – like sudoku but with more math involved (because more math obviously = more fun).
        I’m nervous about playing this one – as you said, it sounds dangerously addictive!

        Like

        1. I told Mike to vacuum the house first. If Wendy catches wind of the game she might be passing you the vacuum…and the toilet brush…and diaper patrol…’cause she’ll want to spend her time playing it! lol

          Never tried kenken, but I’m a big Sudoku fan. My f-i-l is big on the kenken, and I got him into Sudoku. His mind is rapt in numbers, so anything math is up his alley.

          Like

          1. Perhaps best to keep it on the down low then!

            A friend has a subscription to the globe & mail but doesn’t have much use for the puzzles – so every month or so, he brings us a stash of saved up arts sections full of sudokus/kenkens/crosswords. W’s all about the sudoku, I do the kenken, and it’s a team effort on the crossword

            Like

    1. lmao, the thought crossed my mind…I was gonna get more creative and use a lego head and everything…but I don’t have any lego. Smurfs! I have Smurf figurines from the 80s! Damn! Missed op!

      Like

Leave a Reply

