[Music] Mrs. Remnants: an Album That Only Exists in My World

This is my first blogpost specifically about a particular music album. Many of my music blogger pals have seen me on their blogs, commenting and writing about my love and experiences with music. Some are familiar with my affinity for obscure 80s and Canadian music. What better way to start writing about music here than introduce you to a compilation that no one has ever heard of? Well, no one has heard of it because it was my creation…

My sis was celebrating her 29th birthday in 2000. My mom had recently “gifted” me our old 45s of music from when we were kids. My gawd, THE MEMORIES in that pile! I follow that statement up with: my gawd, THE EXPENDABLE INCOME!

This pile of (mostly) tasty ear candy* inspired me to make a special gift to my sister for her birthday…a mixed CD of some favourite songs from the 80s. I called it, “Mrs. Remnants: A Compilation of what remains of the 80s“.

mrs remnantcmgfront

Cover of compilation with my sis and I in the 80s @

What’s in a name? Besides the hilarity of the double entendre, there is an actual Mrs. Remnant.

She was the Vice Principal and grade 7/8 English-language curriculum teacher of the French-Immersion elementary school my sis and I attended. And she was MEAN. Not, “she had tough love for her students”. No, she was “grab you by the scruff of the neck if you were running in the halls and scare the living shit out of you” MEAN.^ Anyway, when I called my compilation, Mrs. Remnants, I thought it fitting, considering the music was what was left from the time when my sis and I were being taught by Mrs. Remnant (or being ruled under her iron fist…).

Creating this mix for my sis was so much fun, and brought back some awesome memories for me. It was a double album jam-packed with great tunes. I still pull it out and listen to it today!

CD 1

1. Planet Earth – Duran Duran
2. When Smokey Sings – ABC
3. I Feel For You – Chaka Khan
4. I Can’t Wait – Nu Shooz
5. April Fool – Chalk Circle (LOVED these guys!)
6. In a Big Country – Big Country
7. Parents Just Don’t Understand – DJ Jazzy Jeff and Fresh Prince
8. Life is What You Make It – Talk Talk
9. Cars – Gary Numan
10. Mirror in the Bathroom – English Beat
11. Land Down Under – Men At Work
12. More Than This – Roxy Music
13. Melt With You – Modern English
14. If You Leave – OMD
15. Papa Was a Rolling Stone – Was Not Was
16. Absolute Beginners – The Jam
17. Breakout – Swing Out Sister
18. One Thing Leads to Another – The Fixx

CD 2

1. One Night in Bangkok – Murray Head
2. I Ran – A Flock of Seagulls
3. Black Man Ray – China Crisis
4. Just Can’t Get Enough – Depeche Mode
5. You Spin Me Round – Dead or Alive
6. Fascination – Human League
7. Living in a Box – Living in a Box
8. Things Can Only Get Better – Howard Jones
9. Electric Avenue – Eddy Grant
10. Teenland – Northern Pikes (Love this song!!)
11. Naughty Girls – Samantha Fox
12. Funky Town – Pseudo Echo
13. She Blinded Me With Science – Thomas Dolby
14. Safety Dance – Men Without Hats
15. Two of Hearts – Stacey Q
16. Heart and Soul – T’Pau
17. West End Girls – Pet Shop Boys
18. White Horse – Laid Back

Then, it was time to make a “kickass”$ cover. I LOVED desktop publishing back in 2000, but couldn’t afford Photoshop. I bought a cheap-o graphics program at Costco called Paintshop Pro; it was meant to help me create my wedding invitations but worked great when creating mixed CD covers. Using my “state-of-the-poor” BenQ crappy flatbed scanner, I found some choice photos of my sis and I from that time. Put them all together along with some cheesy graphics, and voila! I’m quite proud of the workmanship, actually. Not bad for a Pentium 1 compu-pu…

mrs remnants back

I associate certain music with certain memories and feelings. Mrs. Remnants: A Compilation of What Remains of the 80s just makes me smile when I look at it, and reminds me of the good times I had with my sis, sharing and listening to music, hamming it up and generally having a blast.

*Mostly tasty ear candy…I am not sure my Barbie and the Rockers floppy record qualifies…

@ Here I am, a very young Sarca pre-braces and bad perm. I am not asking for attention, I swear!

^ My introduction to Mrs. Remnant: third grade. I was running after a classmate in the hallway trying to get to class. Mrs. Remnant’s “rubber arm of the law” caught me by my blouse, and pulled me in close enough to smell the remnants of her Players Lights on her breath. She screamed at me: “NO RUNNING IN THE HALLS!!” and I nearly pissed myself in fear. This matron made a lasting first impression! I forgive her for all of it; we all have a job to do.

$ Hey, art is subjective, people!

Thanks for reading!

17 comments

  1. Great art but I’m afraid I can’t endorse any 80’s compilation that doesn’t contain either ‘Rock me Amadeus’, or ‘The Heat Is On’!!

    Like

      1. Ha! You do get bonus points for including a Sam Fox song that isn’t ‘Touch Me..’ – you and your sis must be two of the only people on earth who could name another one of hers.

        Like

Leave a Reply

