Dusting Off the iPod Nano

19908 songs. 57.9 days to play through ’em all.

photo: apple-history.com

That’s how many MP3s I have – at least that’s what my iTunes* library is telling me.

The hubs is loading music onto my ancient iPod nano (iOS -0.5 gen, probably…). I called her BEANS back in the day. Apparently she’s still good enough to use connected to the Xbox 360 to play music in the background while playing racing games.

He pointed out that I have Gowan’s greatest hits in the iTunes library, and whilst listening to Cee Lo Green belting, “Does that make me craaay-zaaaaa?”  he emphatically gestured to me and said lovingly, “Yes, yes you are.”

The next song up is Iron Maiden’s Rainmaker.

Gowan^. Cee Lo and Iron Maiden. Duran Duran, Billy Joel, Led Zeppelin, the Beatles. Megadeth. And Gowan.

What? I have eclectic taste in music.

Does that make me crazy? Possibly. But, I’ll never change.

*I hate iTunes, but seems to be a necessary evil when I use an iTouch in the car (and can’t use my Android cell for musak and comply with the handsfree device laws on Ontario roads – another lovely story for another time…)

^That’s THE Lawrence Gowan, who had such Canadian radio hits as “Awake the Giant,” “A Criminal Mind”, “Cosmetics” and of course, “You’re a Strange Animal.” He’s an acquired taste.

12 comments

    1. And I know several people who know Gowan. One guy I used to work with – his father was friends with Gowan who would sign autographed photos for him to bring back to the kids. The kids would be all – who??

      Another friend of mine used to attend the same church as Gowan who would come to worship with his rock n roll hair. He left the leather pants at home, sadly. lol

      Like

  1. The Gowan. Is that anything like the Hasselhoff?

    Eclectic musical tastes are the best kind of musical tastes. One cannot survive on pop or blues or metal alone. Well, maybe they can, but I don’t recommend it. And those Nanos were beasts.

    Like

    1. Mine was so teeny tiny…1.58 gigs only. But, enough to put some songs on. I marvel at the fact that back in 2007 the thing cost $200. I used it also as a flash drive, which you can no longer do with the new iDevices…damn drm…

      Like

  2. haha – that’s my current listening device! I remember boasting to my grade 9s (who are now in 2nd year university) that I had an ipod and even then, they thought it was an antique!

    But it makes for a good algebra lesson about ‘like terms’ – I have an i^1 and they have a 5th gen i^5. Even though the bases are the same, the exponents are different and so if we swapped ipods, it wouldn’t be a fair trade. Therefore, not like terms!

    And cheers to eclectic tastes in music, nice to see Gowan make an appearance in the rotation.

    Like

    1. My current device is actually a 3 gen iPod Touch. I also have a Samsung S2 phone that can hold music, but I hate the player on it and haven’t looked for anything better… besides, the pod holds 30 Gb of music, and does the music thing excellently. I’m stubborn…

      Like

Leave a Reply

