Sunday January 26 Gaming Low-Down

Wake me up when January ends…and thank the gods, we’re almost there!

January has got to be my least favourite month of the year. It’s after the festive Christmas season, it’s still dark when I leave for work and dark when I get home. It’s grey and freezing as eff out. Miserable. Can you tell I don’t like January?

My otherwise busy week was filled with a little gaming. To start, I completed Escape the Emerald Star, a great hidden object game that no one into casual games should pass up. Then, moving on, I watched my husband play X Blades and its sequel Blades of Time and got to see a lot of lady posterior (which I was not prepared for). Later in the week, I began (and subsequently finished) Unsolved Mystery Club: Amelia Earhart which was a fantastic hidden object game.

Yesterday, my husband needed to get the nose piece fixed on his glasses, so off to Wally World we go. We always take that as an opportunity to check out the games and see if we can find any discounts. I happened to find a Big Fish Games collection of 13th Skull partnered with Dark Dimensions: City of Fog for PC. I’ve played both before about three years ago and both were great. Feeling a bit nostalgic, and wanting the games in hard copy, I decided to pick them up! Speaking of PC games at Wal-Mart, I am finding it tougher and tougher to find any PC games at Wal-Mart or any store for that matter. I think many of them are becoming available on Big Fish Games, and Steam as downloadable games. I would like to consider myself a techie person, and not terribly ludditic, but I still like to have some things in hard copy if I can find them. Just an observation…

This week’s documentary feature comes from DailyMotion! I am not sure where I read about it, but back in the 80s and 90s there was an amusement park in New Jersey called Action Park that has the infamy of having the most injuries and deaths of any park in North America. I watched a documentary in two parts from the people who bring you Mashable and DailyMotion where they reminisce about the park in a hilarious way. Some of the rides that were created were ridiculous and make you wonder how they would ever pass code. Regardless of the skin burns, drownings and electrocutions people got from the rides at Action Park, people still think highly of it and how much fun they had. It’s not a bleak retelling, by the way. You can begin the journey here: The Most Insane Amusement Park Ever (20 mins).

Anyway, hope you have a great week out there! And as always, HAPPY GAMING!!

One comment

Leave a Reply

