What I Played: Caught Me Gaming’s 2013 Complete Gaming List!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! I would like to take this opportunity to thank my loyal readers for sticking with me over the last 6 months. This happens to be my 100th blog post!! I don’t have a huge following, but I do have a small group of quality bloggers with some great things to say. Thank you, thank you! You are what has kept this little project of mine afloat!

Without further ado, here it is, as promised:

CAUGHT ME GAMING’S 2013 COMPLETE GAMING LIST!!

[Now, to be clear, I did not complete all these games (the ones I did are bolded), some I played for quick enjoyment or to try with my husband. Obviously, I didn’t write a review every game I completed, either. I have included links to those games I did write a review for. This list encompasses games that I tried for longer than an hour and gave a fair shake.]

1. MarioKart Wii (Wii)
2. Shadow of Destiny (PSP)
3. Walking Dead Game (Xbox 360)
4. Bioshock: Infinite (Xbox 360)
5. Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon (PC) – Played game in co-op
6. Death Pages: Ghost Library (PC)
7. Where’s Waldo (PC)
8.  Mystery of the Crystal Portal (Android)
9. Alien Breed: Impact (PC) – Played game in co-op
10. Alien Swarm (PC) – Played game in co-op
11. Wii Play Motion (Wii) – Played game in co-op
12. Alan Wake (Xbox 360)
13. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light (Xbox 360)*
14. Feeding Frenzy (Xbox 360)
15. Hexius (Xbox 360)
16. 999: 9 Hours, 9 Persons, 9 Doors (Nintendo DS)
17. Portal 2 (PC) – Played game in co-op
18. Silent Hill (PS2)
19. The Cave (Xbox 360) – Played game in co-op
20. Left For Dead (PC) – Played game in co-op
21. Saint’s Row The Third (PC) – Played game in co-op
22. Binary Domain (PC – trial) – Played game in co-op
23. Borderlands (PC) – Played game in co-op
24. Nike+ Kinect Training (Xbox 360)
25. Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker (PC)
26. Off the Record: Linden Shades (PC)
27. Mortal Kombat: Armageddon (Wii) – Played game in multiplayer
28. James Patterson’s Women’s Murder Club: Games of Passion (Nintendo DS)
29. Disney Guilty Party (Wii) – Played game in multiplayer
30. Ratchet and Clank: a Crack in Time (PS3) – Played game in co-op
31. Enigmatis: Ghosts of Maple Creek (Android)
32. The Sanctuary (Android)
33. The Passenger (Android)
34. Kirby’s Epic Yarn (Wii) – Played game in co-op
35. Infernus (Android)
36. Borderlands 2 (PC) – Played game in co-op
37. Nintendoland (Wii U) – Played game in co-op
38. Game and Wario (Wii U) – Played game in multiplayer
39. Living Legends: Frozen Beauty (PC)
40. Hardy Boys: Treasure on the Tracks (Nintendo DS)
41. Getting Fit With Mel B (PS3 with PlayStation Move)
42. Time Hollow (Nintendo DS)
43. C.S.I.: Dark Motives (Nintendo DS)
44. Trivial Pursuit (Wii) – Played game in multiplayer
45. Tomb Raider: Underworld (PC)
46. Broken Sword: Shadow of the Templars (DS/PC)
47.. Nightmare Adventures: Witch’s Prison (Android) – played free trial
48.. Midway Arcade Collection 2 (Xbox) which included Mortal Kombat II & III and Narc – Played game in co-op and multiplayer
49. Epic Adventures: Cursed Onboard (Android)
50. Secrets of the Dark: Temple of Night (PC)
51. Torchlight II (PC) – Played game in co-op
52. Twisted Lands: Shadow Town (Android)
53. Secrets of the Dark: Eclipse Mountain (PC)
54. Legend of Crystal Valley (PC)
55. Mystery Case Files: Malgrave Incident (Wii)
56. The Amazing Race (Wii)
57 and 58.Sherlock Holmes: The Mummy and the Silver Earring (PC)
59. Sacra Terra: Angelic Night (Android)
60. Endless Ocean (Wii)
61. Pocky and Rocky (SNES) – Played game in co-op
62. Smash TV (SNES) – Played game in co-op
63. Contra (SNES) – Played game in co-op
64. Namco Museum Megamix (Wii) – specifically Pac & Pal, Bosconian and Rally-X – Played game in co-op
65. Hidden Mysteries: Buckingham Palace (PC)
66. Syberia (PC)
67. Divekick (PS3) – Played game in co-op
68. Shutter Island (PC)
69. The Tudors Game (PC)
70. Alter Ego (PC)
71. The Room (Android)
72. Mystery Manor (Android)
73. Golden Axe (Sega Arcade)
74. Obscure (PS2) – Played game in co-op
75. Pilotwings (SNES)
76. Shiver: Moonlit Grove (PC)
77. Twisted Lands: Insomniac (Android)
78. Disney’s Aladdin (SNES)
79. Disney’s Lion King (SNES)
80. Mario Bros (NES)
81. Super Mario Bros (SNES)
82. Super Mario 2 (SNES)
83. Super Mario 3 (SNES)
84. Super Mario World (SNES)
85. Donkey Kong Country (SNES)
86. Streets of Rage 2 (PS3)
87. Mario Kart (NES) – Played game in multiplayer
88. Hardest Game Ever 2 (Android)
89. Ardy Lightfoot (SNES)
90. Fusion Frenzy (Xbox) – Played game in co-op
91. Mortal Kombat (Xbox) – Played game in multiplayer
92. Nancy Drew: Trail of the Twister (PC)
93. Alisia Dragoon (Sega)
94. Qix et al. (NES/Amiga)
95. Blades of Vengeance (SNES)
96. The Hurricanes (SNES)
97. The Great Waldo Search (NES)
98. The Great Waldo Search (SNES)
99. Alien Storm (SNES)
100 and 101. Afterburner and Afterburner 2 (SNES)
102. Alex Kidd in the Enchanted Castle (Sega Gen)
103. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer (SNES)
104. Barbie (NES)
105. House of the Dead: Overkill (PS3)
106. Emergency 2012 (PC)
107. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World: The Game (PS3)
108. Drawn: The Painted Tower (PC)
109. Art of Murder: Deadly Secrets (PC)
110. Time Relics: Gears of Light (PC- trial only)
111. Nancy Drew: Deadly Secret of Olde World Park (Nintendo DS)
112. Diner Dash (Nintendo DS)
113. Sonic All-Star Racers Transformed (PC) – – Played game in multiplayer
114. Season of Mystery: Cherry Blossom Murders (PC)
115. Gone Home (PC)
116. Alan Wake’s American Nightmare (PC)
117. Mystery Case Files: MillionHeir (Nintendo DS)
118. The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (PS3)
119. The Cameron Files: Secret at Loch Ness (PC)
120. Dead Mountaineer’s Hotel (PC)
*Completed the game once before, but not this year

So there you have it! I am shocked at the amount of games I’ve played this year (and that wasn’t even a conscience effort!).

When I completed Alan Wake, I was so proud of myself, I took a picture of the final screen!

When I completed Alan Wake, I was so proud of myself, I took a picture of the final screen!

It has been a fun gaming year for me, which I hope to continue on in 2014. What do I hope for this blog? Well, I hope to still have the time to devote to writing for it. I have also thought about incorporating some social media like Twitter into the mix, but then I think it might be too much to manage (one more thing to update…). If any one of my blogger readers has managed to keep their social media (aka Twitter, Facebook, G+) going AND has managed to update their blog with good blog content, I’d love the hear from you if it’s worth branching out into social media? Any advice? I tried it when I had another blog a while back, and didn’t find I could keep it all up, nor did I have the engagement I was hoping for. Then again, I was on a different platform (Blogger), and the scope of my blog was not something that would interest everyone (knitting). WordPress has been a very decent place for community engagement, and I am very at home here. 🙂

Next post, I’ll list the best games I played in 2013 that are not necessarily from 2013… and I’ll also include those that have their own special category on Caught Me Gaming: those notoriously labelled “this game blows”!!

Until next time – Happy New Year, and as always and forever – HAPPY GAMING!!

17 comments

        1. Ha, I work tomorrow (yep, college is open!)…5:30 wake-up call, so thought I’d get a bit ready by getting up early so not so tired. Also, we’re playin’ Borderlands right now and drinking coffee! 🙂

          Like

          1. 6:30 wakeup call for me tomorrow. But my customers are still shut down until Jan 6 (Monday) so I don’t know how busy I will be tomorrow and Friday.

            We just got back from Tim’s and getting ready for the Winter Classic!

            Like

  1. I’m not very prolific with posts at all but I do have a twitter account that doesn’t take up too much time and I do get some hits from that. I imagine Facebook would be great for getting hits but it would be way too much of a time suck for me. I’d rather just try and write more posts.

    Like

  2. I have only used it a couple times, but my buddy Craig Fee recommends Hootsuite. You can connect all your social media through it, and use it to automatically send out tweets and Facebook updates etc. So you could be at work and Hootsuite will automatically post a scheduled update for you. “Check out today’s review, it’s 2 pm, I’d #ratherbegaming”. Or whatever. I’m not the best at composing Tweets. I’m too verbose for 140 characters or whatever the limit is.

    Anyway, according to my stats, I don’t pull in a lot of hits via Facebook or Twitter, but I use them because for some of my friends who don’t want to read every thing I post to see what’s up and chose what to read. I know some friends will only read Record Store Tales for example.

    Like

    1. When I was updating my knitting blog, I had a facebook page and would often share my posts on my wall. I had very poor reception from FB. I think people just have way too much to read in their newsfeed, or whatnot. Blogger was not a good platform for me to get readers either.
      Twitter worked out a bit better, but I ran into trouble following everyone that followed me. There is no way I could possibly read all those tweets! I still get followers on my personal twitter, but I haven’t updated it in a long while.

      BTW, I had become a social media guru of sorts last year, using my knitting blog as an experiment. The worst platform was Google +, and I was VERY disappointed in how Google treats Blogger as a throwaway. They had the “Google Friend Connect” thing that attracted you to other blogs and readers, but they effectively shuttered GFC in 2012, and also made the Blogger reader barely functional by first, shutting it down and forcing users to connect it to Google Reader (and later shuttering GR…), then getting rid of GFC. Blogger is good for free customization and free way to make $ from your blog. WordPress is more community-oriented, and customization is not free. I am very at home with WordPress! 🙂 (gee…I have a lot to say on the subject…)

      Like

      1. Sounds like you have waaay more social media experience than me. I was dragged into the Facebook world a few years ago but it’s weird how it’s gone with re-connecting with people. Certainly a good number of my Record Store Tales could not have been possible without Facebook connections.

        And then here’s something weird. This guy that used to bully me in grade school is now one of my biggest fans…a few weeks ago he read every single chapter. Weird, but I’m cool with it. He probably doesn’t even know he was a bully back then.

        Like

          1. Final “you know what’s weird?” observation of the morning. (You can tell my coffee has kicked in.)

            It’s absolutely bizarre to me how what was uncool is 1986 is so friggin’ cool now. If you had said to me, “By 2014, your toy collection will be one of the coolest things you have,” I would have laughed and told you to get lost! But this guy that used to pick on me in school, today he seems genuinely interested in the toys and music and stuff that used to get me picked on. It was NOT cool to be the only Kiss fan in Catholic school in 1986.

            Anyway long story short — I think the same is true to a certain degree of video games. There was a TV show last year called King of the Nerds and it was all these gamer nerds competing for money. And I thought, “Not one of those people seems like nerds to me — gaming is super cool now, and so are Motley Crue T- shirts”. It struck me that what was natural to me in 1986 is now trendy to emulate, and that’s a real mindf***!

            So happy gaming, as I play Alien Hive for the BB Z10.

            Like

      2. I’d like to make $ from my blog but the truth is all I really wanted was get some free music to review and have the chance to talk to some rock stars. Well that happened, and more would be nice but no matter what I’m looking forward to 2014.

        Like

Leave a Reply

