[Review] The Walking Dead: the Game (XBox 360)

I had mentioned in a previous post that zombie fandom is pretty rampant now, especially with the Walking Dead on the air. I don’t know anyone who doesn’t watch it…except my sister who refused to after one episode, saying it’s way too scary.

I have always been a fan of Walking Dead right back when the show was merely a graphic novel (those are an amazing read!). I am here to say that even if you have had enough of the zombie phenomenon, particularly Walking Dead, you do not want to miss out on the Telltale Games release of the Walking Dead: The Game – it is excellent.

My introduction to the game happened two days after New Year’s Day 2013. My husband downloaded the game on the Xbox 360, and began to play it. In usual fashion, he immediately liked it, and said that I should play it. Like my experience with Alan Wake – my second game of 2013 – I played this game in a dark room, home alone, with nothing but my wits (okay barely my wits…). All this to say that the game really filled me with fright, and made me feel like I could not see it to the end. Yet, I played, and before I knew it, I saw the credits roll.

Let me set the scene: Lee Everett is under arrest for murder. When we first meet him he is sitting in the back of a police cruiser in handcuffs. Next thing you know, the cruiser gets run off the road, knocking Lee out. He wakes up to discover the zombie apocalypse has occurred, and what ensues is one of the most chilling and exciting survival horror adventure games I have ever played. Along the way, he meets a little girl, Clementine, whose parents are nowhere to be found. Lee looks after her as they dodge walkers and team up with other characters they meet, including characters fans of the show are familiar with, like Hershel and Steve.

You play as Lee, and control what he says and does. The game gives you several actions to choose from, each with its own moral consequences. The option you choose has a direct impact on what happens in the game and can change how the game ends. Throughout the game you find yourself constantly having to evaluate whether you should trust someone with secrets, whether it’s worth it to stay kind and civil to someone, making decisions based on keeping Clementine alive, all the while being attacked by walkers. It very much taps into one’s psyche, resulting in a unique individualized gaming experience.

I played the Walking Dead on the Xbox 360, and found the controls pretty intuitive. The game looked great, and had strong dialogue and voice acting. The Walking Dead: The Game is strong and encompassing, leaving you wanting more – not unlike the show on TV.

The Walking Dead: The Game (Xbox 360)
Publisher: Telltale Games
Released: 2011

6 comments

  1. Is this game which you want to play through again and make different decisions choices? I founded myself wanting to play it again and make different choices. Good article, I have to say.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the compliment, Sensei!

      No, I haven’t replayed the game to see the different endings. I was very satisfied with the outcome of my game. I did compare my experience with that of my husband and found we did have different plot experiences which I found very interesting. I do hope to play this game again someday.

      Like

  2. I really love this game! I’m excited about Season 2 coming out soon and with Clementine being the main, playable character I believe. Did you ever play the 400 Days DLC?

    Like

Leave a Reply

