[Review] Time Hollow (DS) is Time Well Spent

Who wouldn’t like to go back in time and change bad events into good ones? I know there are some mistakes I wouldn’t mind righting…That is the premise of Time Hollow, an adventure visual novel game I picked up last week for the DS. A twisty and turny plot, great graphics and overall great gameplay make Time Hollow one you want to play on the DS.

Time Hollow tells the story of Ethan, a teenager whose parents mysteriously go missing overnight. He wakes up to discover they had actually disappeared twelve years ago…and that he is now living in some weird parallel universe. He finds a special “hollow pen” tied to his pet cat’s collar, and Ethan soon discovers this pen can be used to open a portal to the past. Each portal he opens with the pen allows him to change elements of the past and thus the outcome of the future. Of course, with each portal Ethan creates, there is always a domino effect that can sometimes backfire on him. I won’t say any more about the plot as I might end up spoiling it for you so I’ll stop right there.

Right off the bat, Time Hollow looks good, complete with smooth graphics and natural voiceovers. The game even has a decent opening track that I found myself tapping my foot to. My only complaint about the gameplay is that sometimes I felt a bit lost as to where I was supposed to go to next, but unlike HOGs where you have to constantly backtrack and click through the scenes to your next location, Time Hollow gives players a map, where all you do is click a location to be transported to it. This is one game that I found myself looking forward to seeing how the story would end.

After I finished Time Hollow, I decided to read what others thought of it. Frankly, I couldn’t believe the number of negative reviews people gave it, and I am confused as to why. Its score on Metacritic is 64%, including a 5.5 out of 10 given by Gamespot…I say: ignore all the nay-sayers and play Time Hollow yourself. I really enjoyed it, and I think it’s a solid adventure game for the DS.

Time Hollow
Developer: Tenky / Publisher: Konami
Released: September 2008 (N.A.)

Credit: labelinteractive.com

One comment

Leave a Reply

