Ubiquitous First Blog Post!

Right off the bat, I’m not a gaming expert  at all, nor the most sophisticated gamer, but I have been playing video games for years. I am a 30-something female who happens to have a spouse who games heavily and who encourages me to play whatever game whenever possible.

Over the last few years, I’ve been getting my feet wet in more complex genres of gaming, such as Survival Horror and Shoot ‘Em Ups. It’s been a challenge getting used to some of the controls of the different gaming systems, and I’m not the best gamer but I’m learning! The type of gaming genre I really enjoy, however, is Casual Gaming; more specifically, Hidden Object (HOG) and Adventure puzzle games. Both types of gaming satisfy me in different ways for different reasons. Many hardcore gamers are bored to death by HOGs and that’s okay by me. I just know what kinds of games I’m attracted to and what I want to spend my time playing. These days, I am playing Off the Record:  Linden Shades (HOG) on the PC, and Borderlands 2 on Steam; both games are polar opposites in terms of  genre and I am digging them both.

I have an old green spiral notebook that I have been using to keep track of all the Casual HOG and Adventure Games I’ve played (just so I can keep track and not duplicate – their titles all start to sound alike!). I’ve listed over 50 games in the last two years, and this doesn’t include all the Action Role-Play (RPG) First-Person-Shooter (FPS) games I play with my hubs.

This blog is going to be a diary of my gaming experiences. I’m not sure where this journal will take me or if I’ll follow through with it, but at the very least I will have a record of what I have accomplished so far,  in the event my old green spiral notebook falls victim to a “spilled-coffee incident” or some such.

10 comments

  1. Always glad to see girls get into gaming. I’ve been trying to get my wife into it for years. I think i’m finally starting to break down that barrier of hers. She recently started doing a gaming podcast with me. so i’m hoping that sparks her interest a little more as well. Anyway look forward to reading your “casual” gaming stories 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, awesomesloth. My husband is responsible for gently nudging the gaming bug in me after several years together. Now, I find myself buying more game than him sometimes!

      Like

  2. I guess your blog turned into something more than gaming 🙂 It’s looking pretty good.
    Thanks for following our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer. Cheers, and happy gaming, Alison

    Like

      1. It’s neat going back and reading old comments – I can tell with old ones I’d written (when I’d first started reading a blog like yours), they’re a bit more impersonal.

        A fun journey!

        Like

Leave a Reply

